Liebster Award

2 Comments

I am really excited to have been nominated for another Blogging Award! Leigh, a fellow blogger, nominated me for the Liebster Award! I’m thrilled to accept it and to point you guys to her blog, Watch Me Rock!

The Liebster Award is an award that bloggers nominate their favorite blogs in a show of support, affirmation, and sharng. There are a couple of things a nominee is required to do:

  • Answer the questions created for you by the blogger who nominated you
  • Choose up to 11 bloggers to nominate
  • Create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate
  • Go to their page and tell
  • No Tag Backs

Leigh has some great questions that I’m excited to spend some time answering!

Let us know where you’re from and why you began blogging!

I currently live outside of Austin, Texas. I have been writing all of my life, but have left it all under lock and key, all the while dreaming of being an author. Last February, my mentor suggested that I start a blog and write every day for 365 days. He suggested that it would build discipline into my writing practices and I would learn to write to an audience. It was an incredible experience and I just never stopped!

What do you find most challenging about blogging about your topic?

I have spent the first year and a half writing about Recovery, specifically how it related to my job and community. Writing about Recovery is a challenge, becuase it is a complicated and complex topic. Recovery is such an individual process and while there are principles that apply universally to Recovery, it becomes practical in the individual details. It can be difficult to write to the broad and general and not the particular in the lives of people.

I am currently undergoing a season of transitionn and sense that my writing will soon reflect some of that change. The idea of redirecting my entire focus is exciting, but a challenging prospect as well.

What do you do when you’re not blogging?

I love photography and take pictures anytime I get a chance! I am an avid reader and spend quite a bit of downtime on my Kindle. I’m also a wife, mom of two teenagers, and friend. Relationships give me life and energy and I enjoy being with people.

Any travel destination recommendations?

Travel is one of my greatest passions and I love going new places! My Bucket List has some incredible items crossed off, but still has many new adventures waiting in my future. A few of my favorite places include:

  • London, England
  • Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Paris, France
  • Seattle, Washington
  • Masai Mara, Kenya
  • Bruges, Belgium

Name 3 books you can’t live without!

Just Three?!?! My Kindle is embarassingly full of so many titles that I come back to again and again! Alright, focus and self control, the three I would choose would be:

  • The Bible
  • Roget’s Thesuarus
  • Ragamuffin Gospel, Brennan Manning

If you could travel in time, what year would you go to and why?

If I could travel in time, I would go to 19th century London. I would love to find myself completely engrossed in the art, fashion, music, literature, culture, society, and technology of that time.

What puts a smile on your face?

My husband and two kids can put a smile on my face faster than anyone!

What is the best advice you’ve ever been given?

Rest in the Mystery! One of the best pieces of advice I’ve been given! It is such profound wisdom that has allowed me to learn to stop, relax, and rest in the mysterious journey I constantly find myself on with God and others. I tend to be a worker, doer, striver, and accomplisher and that leads me to over thinking, over complicating, and over commiting. I often find myself burdened becuase I say YES to alot of good things, but that disables me from saying YES to the Best things! As I learn to Rest in the Mystery, I find the freedom to say NO, the confidence to be present in the moment, and to celebrate the small things.

Funniest one-liner?

Well, it comes from my son and he said it when he was in elementary school, which was a while ago. It was a morning of hurried school preparation that quickly turned into an argument over taking unhealthy food to school for a snack. Before I knew it, my 7 year old was comparing my rules to the rules of his friend’s parents and showing me the ways that I am far too strict. I learned way more about what other 7 year old’s parents were sending for snacks than I cared to before the sun was up. I realized, in my groggy state, I was quickly losing the arguement and desparately reached for something in the archive of my mind and it went something like this….

Me: If your friends jumped off a cliff, would you?

My son : I don’t know, how high is the cliff?

How can we stay updated on your latest? (website, twitter, facebook, etc.)

You can find me HERE on my Blog. For the summer months, I am blogging two days a week, Monday and Thursday. In the fall, I plan to move back to 5 days a week of regular posts.

You can connect with me on Twitter or Instagram (lisagobrien)

You can also see some of my photography HERE.

And, drumroll please, my nominations for the Liebster Award are:

Use Your Heart Now

GoinsWriter

Eric Bryant

Debra Evans

Integrate to Live

Dave Betts

365 From the Archive

Bucket List Publications

Your questions are:

  1. Who are you?
  2. Tell us how you started Blogging and why
  3. How long have you been writing? What forms?
  4. What are your most favorite and least favorite things about blogging?
  5. What keeps you up at night?
  6. Tell us about a book that you are currently reading
  7. What is your favorite movie and why?
  8. What dream do you long to see become a reality in your future?
  9. What tickles your funny bone?
  10. Best piece of advice you’ve been given?
  11. Your best advice to others?

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

