Incomprehensible Peace

2 Comments

We live each day in this human body with this human mind. We walk through the valleys and mountaintops, the joy and the grief, the good and the bad that this life brings. Through it all, it seems, what we are really after is peace.

How many times have you looked in the mirror, thrown your hands in the air, cried on your pillow, or shouted to anyone who would listen, “I just want peace!”? How many times have I? I imagine if we counted the times the Almighty has heard that from the human race, it would baffle us with the enormity of the number.

Today, I got to witness a beautiful expression of incomprehensible peace. I saw it with my own eyes and experienced it in a way that has left me speechless. The Bible explains it this way –

Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

I was invited today to step into a very intimate family experience with a friend whose mother is closing her human chapter very soon. From all outside observation, this woman should have been worried, upset, even distraught, given the circumstances. Yet, what I witnessed was a woman at peace, who sensed God’s wholeness in this very difficult and personal situation.

She was able to care for the souls of her family and able to offer respect and dignity to a dying soul. Her heart and spirit were as solid and strong as I have ever seen. The center of her life was, very obviously, Jesus.

As I ponder the scene that was just played out before my eyes, I’m confounded by the divine peace that God gives to humans. I’m astounded how He knows our cry for peace and allows it to be an invitation to the center of His heart. Incomprehensible peace is one of the most miraculous ways God shows up in our humanity and it is beautiful!

What has you worried today? Have you cried out for peace? Cry out today for God’s incomprehensible peace to flood your soul and see what miracles follow!

2 thoughts on “Incomprehensible Peace

  1. Pingback: Smile, Don’t Worry. « Life is…………..

  2. Pingback: Peace, O Sweet Peace | Shiloh Temple COGIC

Leave a Reply

