Heart of Stone

Leave a comment

Do you ever feel like your heart is not your own? Like you’ve somehow given it away? And in place of your heart you have somehow been given a heart of stone?

There is an incredible show on network television right now called, Once Upon a Time. It is made by the creators of Lost and is storytelling at it’s finest. My family and I have enjoyed watching the mysteries unfold all season.

The premise of the show is that the evil queen placed a curse of all storybook characters because of her anger and malice toward Snow White. They have been imprisoned in a modern-day town, called Storybrook, and have no recollection of who they are. Only one person can break the curse, but she is selfish, skeptical, and resistant to believe any of the story.

One of the characters, who plays the evil queen, collects the  hearts of those she controls in boxes. She can wound or destroy people simply by holding their heart in her hand. Some of the time, the people don’t even know she has their heart.

I experience the mysterious sensation sometimes that somehow my heart has been given away and what beats inside my chest is not mine at all. As if, the life I am living is not pouring out of the real me, my real heart. It’s an odd sensation that has had me baffled and confused.

Most recently, I feel I have recaptured my heart, from wherever I allowed it to go, and I am allowing it to fuel my days, my actions, and my relationships. In a strange way, it’s as if I found the box that housed my heart and I took it back. It’s beating back inside my chest where it belongs.

I am reminded of a scripture where God makes a promise to His people. It says,

I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them; I will remove their heart of stone and give them a heart of flesh.

Do you ever feel like you are strangely living from a heart of stone?  That has certainly been my experience at different seasons of my life! Some days, do you just cry out for your true heart to beat inside your chest again?

Recovering our heart is no simple task and it is definitely not a passive experience. Imagine the evil queen and her secret room where she stores everyone’s heart. A battle is going to ensue if anyone wants to try to win their heart back.

The same is true in our lives. It is nothing short of a battle to win back our heart of flesh. I love that God has promised to remove that heart of stone in us.

Are you living from a heart of stone or of flesh? What will it take for you to allow, invite, or ask for God to remove that heart of stone? What dreams, passions, creativity, freedom, and life could flow from you living with your true heart of flesh?

Leave a Reply

