From the Archives : Don’t Resolve

Leave a comment

Originally Posted on December 23, 2011 http://wp.me/p1su7V-D0

Christmas is upon us, which means New Years is right around the corner. I am not a New Year’s Resolution kind of girl. Resolutions are nothing more than a test of will power and I always fail the test. We resolve to make this change or that, but most of the things we are resolving to change have absolute power over our lives. Think about it.

If I’m in insurmountable debt due to my irresponsible financial choices, greed, or shopping addiction, it is going to take more than a resolution to make a real change and dig my way out of debt. If my marriage is falling apart because of unhealthy choices, communication, relational habits, or neglect, it is going to take way more than a resolution to rebuild a loving and trusting marriage relationship. If I am drowning in an addiction, known or secret, or even drowning in denial about that addiction, it is going to take a lot more than writing a resolution on a piece of paper to bring me freedom and healing!

I truly believe in day by day transformation. The kind of transformation that brings hope, healing, and freedom. Transformation that makes me a new person, the person I was created to be. I believe we were all made to live free, peaceful, hopeful, and serene lives. We just get lost in the chaos of this life. I don’t believe in resolving to make a change, I believe in committing to transformation. Each day of the year I make the choices and decisions to be the person I was created to be more and more. I take inventory (Step 10) as I connect with God daily (Step 11) and surrender to His ways (Step 3).

If you are looking this year to make some REAL changes, in any area of your life, I would recommend something new. This year don’t resolve to make changes, commit to true transformation! The 12 Steps are a great tool to begin that journey! Feel free to also check out some great reading on Recovery and Resources.

My prayer for each of you is that you will not make a resolution this year, but a transformation!

Leave a Reply

