Things I’ve learned in 365 days of blogging : Lesson #5

2 Comments

I remember the second day I blogged. I sat at the computer screen and thought…I have no idea what to say now. When you first start a blog is it such a strange and isolating experience, because you realize that you are writing to nobody! You are about to create and put your art out into cyber space where it will fly into the abyss – never to be seen by other eyes. In a way, that can actually be a freeing perspective , from a writer’s point of view. Where it starts getting tricky, is when people who you know, and don’t know, start reading your content daily. As people give you feedback, make requests, offer suggestions, and give you guidance, the waters can be muddied so that figuring out what to write can be a process in itself!

The fifth lesson I learned in (almost) 365 days of blogging is : Writers have to write what is inside first

We then filter the audience – their requests, desires, needs, and expectations. During the times that I tried to focus on writing what others wanted me to, I struggled with every word. When I wrote what was inside of me first and then filtered the content through the feedback I was getting, it made the creative process much more natural.

I’ve learned that as I learn more about this art of writing and as I grow in my knowledge and experience, I have to write what is inside of me first! I am compelled to share my unique voice in my unique way. If I try to write like someone else, I am inauthentic. If I try to write what people want to hear, I am fake. If I write to be read, I am insincere. For me, to be authentically creative, I have to write what is inside of me….first!

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned in 365 days of blogging : Lesson #5

  1. I will be going back to read your entries from the beginning. You are speaking such encouragement to my heart. I have no doubt that God led me straight to your blog.

Leave a Reply

