Hungry and Thirsty

Leave a comment

Waking up early in the morning, we all experience the familiar feeling of being hungry and thirsty. Our mouths are dry and parched and remind us of our need for water. Our stomach gently growls to tell us it needs nourishment. It is not only a familiar feeling, but a necessity to life. We must eat and drink to sustain life in our bodies.

This morning, I’m thinking about that truth applied to our souls.I reminded of David, King of Israel’s, thoughts about this,

God, You’re my God! I can’t get enough of you! I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God traveling across dry and weary deserts.

I don’t know about you, but he took the words right out of my mouth. As I travel this journey called life, it often feels to my soul like a dry and weary desert. One where my soul hungers and thirsts after nourishment, after life, after sustenance. The way my body cries out for life, so does my soul every day.

It’s funny, though, to think about being hungry for God. How do we consume the eternal? How do we fill ourselves with the Divine? Such a strange thought, and yet, my soul experiences that strange sensation daily. Like the rumbling of my stomach that reminds me of my body’s need for fuel, my soul has a mysterious rumbling that drives me to connect with God in a way that brings satisfaction.

Thirst is really the same way. Just as my mouth gets dry and parched and needs water to quench the need, my soul finds itself thirsty for God’s presence. My soul often feels like a dry and empty sponge that cries out for moisture. My soul experiences the journey across a dry and weary desert every day and has such great need for God to bring life and nourishment.

What about you? Do you experience your life journey sometimes as a dry and weary desert? Do you find yourself hungry for the Eternal? Thirsty for the Divine? Do you long for God? How does your soul find nourishment?

Leave a Reply

