Strength of my heart

Leave a comment

Reality tells us that life is hard. Circumstances can be difficult. Recovery is challenging. Relationships can be hurtful. Health can fail. Situations can be confusing. Beauty fades. Events can create chaos. Finances come and go. In the middle of all of that, we try on a daily basis to find peace, hope and strength.

For most, we sought peace, hope, and strength in a variety of substances, relationships, behaviors,posessions, attitudes, and habits. None delivered on the promises that attracted us in the first place. We usually find ourselves back at square one, looking for peace, hope, and strength, a little worse for the wear.

I’m reminded of the eloquence of David this morning,

My health may fail, and my spirit grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart: He is mine forever. 

I recognize that depending where you are on your spiritual journey, that can sound trite and shallow. If you are in a place where you are not completely sure about the idea of God being a Higher Power, Creator of the universe, and Loving Father, it does sound a bit shallow and trite. It is a little like me trying to share with you the depth of intimacy I share with my husband of over twenty years. I could share with you some of the silly jokes, sayings, and quotes that have become deeply personal inside statements of love, memories, and bonding with you, but they would sound ridiculous and meaningless. The lack of shared experience and relationship with my husband and I would make those deeply personal things sound trite and shallow, and rightfully so. If you are in a place where you are trying to develop a relationship with God, as your Higher Power, Creator of the universe, and Loving Father, those words might spark a bit of peace, hope, and strength. They might create a hunger in you to desire a deeper understanding of God and a deeper relationship with Him. It might spark a thirst for those words to really mean something powerful in your life.  If, on the other hand, your spiritual journey has taken you from rock bottom to the heights of freedom in an intimate relationship with God, those words are almost like air to your soul.

For me, those words remind me who I am. They remind me that God is mine forever and He remains the strength of my heart. When the world starts to shift underneath my feet and I wonder where and how I will stand, He remains the strength of my heart. When there are more questions than answers and the seeds of fear start to set in, He remains the strength of my heart. When circumstances leave me in isolation and confusion and I can’t see a way out, He remains the strength of my heart. When yesterday starts to fling accusations and reminders of who I was, He remains the strength of my heart. When today is a place that my spirit feels weak and is unsure of where to go, He remains the strength of my heart. When tomorrow is dim and dark and I can’t make out even an outline of a shadow, He remains the strength of my heart. More importantly, they remind me that He is mine forever!

Where do David’s words land with you today on your spiritual journey?

Leave a Reply

