Craggy thoughts

Leave a comment

One of my favorite words is “craggy.” My family teases and challenges that it is not an actual word, but Webster disagrees and so do I. When I use it correctly, I describe my favorite landscape, craggy rocks. Sometimes, to my family’s chagrin, I get creative and use it in more eccentric ways. This morning I feel like I am having craggy thoughts. My thoughts are rough and ragged and not entirely fluid, as they normally are.

All this use of craggy reminds me of an experience I had a few weekends ago. I was in Dallas for some conferences and took the Saturday between to have a creative recharge day. I went to the Dallas Museum of Art and the Nasher Sculpture center. The sculpture center featured a British artist by the name of Tony Cragg. Of course, I connected with him instantly! šŸ™‚ His sculptures were incredible. Check out his site to see some of his work!

His work is very fluid and ethereal, which drew me instantly. Each piece has incredible movement, but he also incorporates a serious amount on engineering and architecture. He showed some of the bronze and stainless steel pieces that had such incredible movement, it was almost like water in the ocean. He also had some incredible wood pieces that were large, intricate, and beautifully impressive.

He had one piece on display on Dallas called, Lost in Thought. It drew me in more than any of the other pieces on display. It stood about 12-14 feet high and was about 2 foot squared. It was a wood piece, probably birch or some other light wood. The piece stood on what appeared to resemble two oddly misshapen feet. It came to life from the bottom and had distinct movement around each side, as well as vertically. The most intriguing piece of the work was the intricacy and mystery of the inside of the piece. It was almost as if there were two different sculptures in one. As you looked at the outside, there were tiny fissures, slats, and openings around the piece. If you stepped in to look closer, you could see an entirely different sculpture, shape, and movement on the inside of the piece. It was like a fusion of the internal and external pieces of the artist’s mind. They were displayed so beautifully as one solid piece, in unity with itself.

Being reminded of that sculpture is the best description I have for my thoughts and my mind today. There is a beautiful mystery and intricacy to the creative side of my thoughts that sometimes can only be expressed visually. What about you? What does it look like when you get Lost in Thought?

Leave a Reply

