Where have all the Cowboys gone?

2 Comments

My creative mind is running on overdrive this morning. Sometimes when it does that, I accidentally stumble onto a stroke of genius. Other times, I stumble onto a jumble of creative chaos. Either way, I’m taking you with me on the adventure today! 🙂

The last few weeks there has been a continuous conversation happening in multiple places, regarding brave souls. The kind of brave souls who will lay their life down, out of love, for their communities. Brave souls who are willing to step into the messiness of people’s lives and love them with self-less love. Brave souls who will stand in the gap for hurting, broken, and desperate souls.

It’s reminded me this morning of the song, “Where have all the Cowboys gone?” While it is a different concept, my mind is focusing in on the question. Where HAVE all the Cowboys gone? Where are those brave adventurers willing to risk safety, comfort, and predictability? Where are the courageous explorers willing to blaze new trails for those that follow behind? Where are the pioneers willing to create a new realities and new communities?

I seem to be hungry to watch people stand up with courage and be willing to Love God and Love People the way Jesus did! The thought is sneaking its way into so many conversations and situations. What will it take to awaken the hearts of cowboys?

Interestingly, this morning I ran across a time God was actually after the same thing! God was speaking to Israel’s prophet Ezekiel talking about the nation of Israel that had turned so far from God. God’s words are this,

I looked for a man among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found none.

Thankfully, we are not the nation of Israel looking at impending exile and destruction. But my heart wonders if God is not sitting on His throne asking the same question about His modern-day children. When he looks at the poverty around the globe and in our own cities, does He look for someone to stand in the gap and finds none? When he sees the atrocities of addiction in our culture, does He look for someone to stand in the gap and finds none? When He sees sexual, physical, verbal, mental, and spiritual abuse happening around the globe, does He look for someone to stand in the gap and finds none? When He looks into our homes, our neighborhoods, and our cities, does He look for someone to stand in the gap and finds none?

I can’t really answer the question, Where HAVE all the Cowboys gone, but I can stand up and say, Here I am! I will stand before you in the gap on behalf of my family, my neighbors, my community! I am here and I am willing! What about you?

2 thoughts on “Where have all the Cowboys gone?

  1. This thought stream reminds me of Gaither Vocal Band’s “A Few Good Men”.

    What this dying world could use is a willing Man of God
    Who dares to go against the grain and works without applause;
    A man who’ll raise the shield of Faith, protecting what is pure;
    Whose love is tough and gentle; a man whose word is sure.

    God doesn’t need an Orator who knows just what to say;
    He doesn’t need authorities to reason Him away;
    He doesn’t need an army to guarantee a win;
    He just needs a Few Good Men.

    Men full of Compassion, who Laugh and Love and Cry-
    Men who’ll face Eternity and aren’t afraid to die-
    Men who’ll fight for Freedom and Honor once again-
    He just needs a Few Good Men.

    He calls the broken derelict whose life has been renewed;
    He calls the one who has the strength to stand up for the Truth.
    Enlistment lines are open and He wants you to come in-
    He just needs a Few Good Men.

    Lisa, thank you for continuing to share your heart and your gift.

    • Thanks Tyson! I appreciate that perspective. My imagination can run wild with what our homes, our communities, our cities could look like if men, women, teenagers, and kids would have their hearts awakened to the cries of our culture! Brave cowboys and cowgirls who are willing to pioneer new realities!

Leave a Reply

