Giving God advice

2 Comments

Prayer is such a strange and beautiful thing. When I really sit and think about it, it sort of blows my mind. Prayer is this unexplainable, intangible form of communication that is both spoken and unspoken. It is communication that stretches from humanity straight to the ears, heart, and mind of God, the eternal Creator. This is where my mind gets blown….God listens and responds when His children pray.

In thinking about prayer as a form of communication, I started to think about when that communication starts to break down. In my life experience, I don’t always have completely healthy communication. Some times and some relationships I have open, honest, and healthy communication that leads to deeper intimacy and love for that person. In other cases, communication is shut down, unhealthy, and leads to a complete break down in the relationship.

Prayer can start to break down when I try to give God advice. Now, I know that I am not the only one who finds themself in this space. But, in all honesty, there are times when I am in communication with God it sounds more like an employer talking to an employee.

“I’d like you to do this and take care of that. This situation will work best if you can make it happen like this. Oh, and if you could take care of your colleague in this way, it would be best for the team.”

I’m not terribly proud to admit this as it comes from my fingers to the screen. It’s actually quite arrogant and prideful of me to think that God needs my advice at all. interestingly, I ran across some truth this morning that relates completely to these thoughts. I actually found the same thought in the Bible in three different places. Here’s what I read :

For who can know the Lord’s thoughts? Who knows enough to give him advice?

 Who is able to advise the Spirit of the Lord?
      Who knows enough to give him advice or teach him?

Who can know the Lord’s thoughts?
      Who knows enough to teach him?

I think prayer as a form of communication blows my mind, but my response to it blows my mind even more. Who am I that I think God needs my feeble advice? Who am I to offer Him ridiculous solutions that don’t serve Him or His will in any way.  I feel the weight of the arrogance and pride it takes to pray this way. I recognize one more reason humility is such an important character trait in my life. Today I think I will spend some time humbly communicating with my Creator. I will spend more time listening to Him and hearing His advice than trying to offer up any suggestions!

I’m interested to hear what communicating with God is like for you?

2 thoughts on “Giving God advice

Leave a Reply

