Step 11.1

1 Comment

Step Eleven says : Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God,  praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out.

Open communication is important to any relationship and God is no exception. It is impossible to have a healthy, vibrant, and growing relationship without communication. This growing relationship we have with God is central to our continued recovery. I will even add to that, it is vital to the recovery we need that we are still unaware of. There are many layers to recovery and removing the addiction does not equal the end of our recovery. In many ways, it is just the beginning.

Step Eleven becomes more of who we are than what we do. It becomes the avenue to deepen our relationship with God and to hear from Him regularly. The concepts of prayer and meditation can seem foreign, scary, or wrong to many of us. I hope this week to discuss some of those things and help us to see these things from new perspectives. Funny thing is, you have actually been learning how to develop this step for the last ten weeks! 🙂 On the fifth day of every week I have been giving you the opportunity to talk to God (prayer), whether out loud or on paper. I have also been giving you the opportunity to listen to God (meditation) every week.

This step really enhances our “new way of living” we experience during these last three maintenance steps. As we turn away from and are free from our addiction, we turn towards this new way of living that includes our daily inventory, improving our communication with God, and (next week) sharing our experience with others.  I love that Step Eleven really simplifies the idea of prayer. It doesn’t give us a million things to pray for or suggest we memorize a book of prayers. It simply guides us to pray one thing, the knowledge of His will and the power to carry it out. I will probably quote a lot of David, Israel’s ancient King, this week because he wrote so many great examples of authentic communication with God. Here is an excellent one,

God made my life complete
      when I placed all the pieces before him.
   When I cleaned up my act,
      he gave me a fresh start.
   Indeed, I’ve kept alert to God’s ways;
      I haven’t taken God for granted.
   Every day I review the ways he works,
      I try not to miss a trick.
   I feel put back together,
      and I’m watching my step.
   God rewrote the text of my life
      when I opened the book of my heart to his eyes.

Let’s take some time to explore these ideas further:

  • What feelings do I have about communicating with God? Explain.
  • Describe how I experience “conscious contact” with God?
  • What do I most seek from God?
  • What is most difficult about trusting God?
  • Describe how I’ve experienced listening to God.
  • How do I feel about the knowledge of God’s will?
  • How has my life changed through this process? Explain.

One thought on “Step 11.1

  1. Pingback: 12 Steps | lisa g. obrien

Leave a Reply

