Step 3.1

1 Comment

Step Three states: We made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God, as we understood Him.

Step Three is all about surrender! We’ve admitted we are powerless and that our lives have become unmanageable. We’ve come to believe that a power greater than ourselves can restore us to sanity. Step Three asks us to intentionally and willingly release our will, our life, our addiction, our hopes, our choices, our future, our dreams, our desires, our compulsions, and our relationships to God’s control. We are making a decision to trust God with everything! I recognize the challenge in this. Some of you have absolutely no reason to trust, as trust has been broken since childhood. Some of you are afraid to trust because it has been destroyed  too many times. Life has taught you to NOT trust, to be skeptical, and to be cautious. This step is a little bit like losing your life, except that you are willingly giving it away. This Step is central to the program and opens the door to a lifelong  journey of surrender.

Step Three is no different from any other decision you make on a regular basis. I recognize that everyone’s personalities and decision-making processes are different. Consider this, when making a decisions we usually weigh the pros and cons, do some sort of cost analysis, consider needs and preferences, and many other things. The same is true for Step Three. This week we will take a journey together to consider the current state and management of our lives, feelings, behaviors, and relationships. After contemplation, you will have an opportunity to make an affirmative step towards recovery.

We are entering into the part of the Twelve Steps that feels a lot more like hard work than a journey. Stick with it, one day at a time. I can promise you that if you will do the work humbly and honestly, there is a part of the Twelve Steps where it feels more like a journey than hard work!

Find your notebook today and let’s start the decision-making process::

  • What in my life has taught me to NOT trust God?
  • What have I done to cause others to not trust me?
  • What keeps me from surrendering my life to God?
  • Where did I get the illusion that I can control people, circumstances, my job, or my life?
  • What stops me from giving up my life, so I can find the life God intends for me?
  • What things in your life cause you to see your need to turn it over to God?

One thought on “Step 3.1

  1. Pingback: 12 Steps | lisa g. obrien

Leave a Reply

