Step 1.5

Leave a comment

Step One states: We admitted we were powerless over our problems and that our lives have become unmanageable.

Yesterday was heavy, I know. Maybe today you are feeling a bit like David when he wrote ::

I am worn out from sobbing.
All night I flood my bed with weeping,
drenching it with my tears.
My vision is blurred by grief;
my eyes are worn out because of all my enemies.

Being powerless does not mean that we are a victim. This is a very fine line that many walk in recovery. Admitting our powerlessness and that our lives are unmanageable is the first step towards new things. When we come to the end of ourselves, we are able to find the beginning of God. We can develop the humility to hear His voice.Recognizing the shocking reality that you are not God can be difficult! It can leave you feeling empty and with a huge void. It’s that very void that God wants to step into. By being honest about our powerlessness opens up the possibility for us to choose a new path.

This may be very difficult for some and I respect that. I think today we would be wise to take some time to talk to God about this week and the things we’ve discovered. I’m going to ask you to go a step further, if you are able. After you’re done talking to Him, sit silently with Him and LISTEN for as much time as you can. It will be uncomfortable to some, I understand. Try to take the time to listen to what He whispers to your soul and write it down!

Prayer for Step One : Today, I ask for help with my recovery. I feel lost and am unsure of myself. Denial has kept me from seeing how powerless I am and how unmanageable my life has become. I need to learn and remember that I cannot manage my life or the lives of others. I also need to remember that the best thing I can do right now is to let go. I choose to let go – I admit that I am powerless and that life is unmanageable.

Leave a Reply

