Quit

Leave a comment

I’m reminded of a scene from the movie, “That Thing You Do.” The lead singer is in the studio ready to record and does not get the creative control he desires. He leans into the microphone, with a smile on his face. He snaps and sings, “I quit. (snap) I quit. (snap) I quit. (snap) I quit. (snap)”

That pretty much sums up my feelings about writing this morning! I feel like my mind is tapped. My insightful observations, creative analogies, and motivating thoughts are dry. No new vocabulary words seem to interest me today. No inspiring quote stirs anything of intrigue in me. Not really a new thought of any value seems to be in my mind.

I’m not really going to quit, just feel the need to express the desire out loud. Recovery has certainly taught me that the day you want to quit the most, is the day you work the hardest! After over 65 days of straight writing, it would be a shame to quit and throw it all away. So today, I write about quitting, but choose to use it to propel me just one step further on this journey.

Leave a Reply

